TREC In The News

Eric Johnson Wins Runoff Election to Become Mayor of Dallas

Jun 10, 2019 | Public Policy, TREC News

The results are in, and Dallas has found its new mayor.
State Rep. Eric Johnson defeated Scott Griggs in Saturday’s runoff election, and Dallas City Council candidates Carolyn King Arnold (District 4), Adam Bazaldua (District 7), Paula Blackmon (District 9), and David Blewett (District 14) won their respective races to determine the city’s new legislative lineup. Johnson will serve a four-year term as mayor, while City Council members serve two-year terms.
On behalf of The Real Estate Council’s 2,200 individual members and 650 member companies, TREC congratulates and looks forward to working with the following elected officials:
Mayor: Eric Johnson
District 1: Chad West
District 2: Adam Medrano
District 3: Casey Thomas
District 4: Carolyn King Arnold
District 5: Jaime Resendez
District 6: Omar Narvaez
District 7: Adam Bazaldua
District 8: Tennell Atkins
District 9: Paula Blackmon
District 10: Adam McGough
District 11: Lee Kleinman
District 12: Cara Mendelsohn
District 13: Jennifer S. Gates
District 14: David Blewett
An inauguration ceremony for the mayor and City Council members will take place Monday, June 17, at 10 a.m. at the Margot & Bill Winspear Opera House – AT&T Performing Arts Center.
TREC’s Political Action Committee (PAC) is proud to have played a small role in electing officials who align with the organization’s mission, vision, and values. TREC is well-positioned to continue engaging in policy issues which impact the commercial real estate industry and the public good in a way significant way to Build The City You’ve Imagined.